Close Your Eyes To Me

Storms make me think of you.
In bed at night
I catch the faint
scent of your hair.
I imagine the slight
flaring of your nostrils
As you sleep and I lie
More awake than ever.

I think it’s the wind
As it whips the rain against
The window. The howling of it.
It obscures the words that I
Cannot seem to even fit into my
Mouth, let alone push them
Out to you through the cold night air.
The air of a new year
seemingly destined to be
As emotionally dense and
Amorously unfrequented as the last.

The air is soupy with electricity and love.
The sky is milky with it and weeps.

Resolutions are mostly selfish
But this is the most selfish of them all;
To share my heavy heart with you
And hope that you shall not break it.

2 thoughts on “Close Your Eyes To Me

  1. I have really enjoyed your recent poems. You definitely have a gift. I especially liked:
    “It obscures the words that I
    Cannot seem to even fit into my
    Mouth, let alone push them
    Out to you through the cold night air.”

  2. A gift indeed. I love the loneliness in the words, the longing.
    It drives your poetry to the next level.
    Come by and see me B.
    ~k

Leave a Reply

